How to Clean an Electric Grill {The Easy Way}

The day I discovered electric grills changed my life forever, mostly because I love melty cheese sandwiches. As soon as I discovered my undying love for them, I also found that I absolutely loathe cleaning them. I would rather clean an entire sink of dishes than have to wash an electric grill. I die. However, since I hate cleaning my little electric grill, I have found an easier, less soul sucking way to clean it.

clean-electric-grill

  1. Unplug the grill.
    Once it’s done cooking your perfectly moist chicken breast, unplug it and let it cool just a little bit.
  2. Place wet paper towels over the grill plates.
    You want to place the paper towels on while the grill is still warm so it promotes some steam to loosen the cooked on grease and grime.
    clean-george-foreman-grill
  3. Close the grill and let it sit until cool.
    Once the dried on crud re-moistens, it’ll wipe away easily instead of making you curse the crud’s very existence.
    how-to-clean-grill
  4. Wipe the grill clean.
    Use the paper towel or grab a cleaning cloth that has been dipped in hot soapy water and wipe the mess away.
    easily-clean-electric-grill

No more do I try and scrub away the dried fat and cheese from the grill and this is the easiest and fastest way I have found to clean electric grills. Although I did upgrade in life and this particular grill’s plate pop right off and I can stick them in the dishwasher. Technically, that is easier, but if your grill plates do not pop off then the paper towel method works wonders.

Happy Cleaning!

Angela

Follow Angela Says on Twitter Like Angela Says on Facebook Subscribe to Angela Says RSS Follow Angela Says on Pintrest

You might also like

19 thoughts on “How to Clean an Electric Grill {The Easy Way}

  1. Thanks for sharing this bit of information. My daughter-in-law has one of those grills that do not have removable plates. It is a pain in the neck to clean or should I say is no longer a pain in the neck to clean with the information you have shared with us. Have a wonderful and safe weekend!

  2. That is a great idea……I do have a George Foreman, but I believe the plates are removable tho…..haven’t used it in years :) time to drag it out of the garage and see…..Thanks, love all your hints…..can not get enough :)

  3. That sounds like a great way to clean the grill, i also read where a young lady found a very easy method, she puts foil on the grill plate both top and bottom and then cooks, and then just throws the foil away.

  4. So I tried this out the other day on my grill. It was amazing!! I let the paper towels sit in the grill for about 5 minutes (at most). The grill was so easy to clean. Thanks for the great tip, Angela!

  5. Never thought of that! Will give it a try. Sure hate dragging that thing to the sink and scrub brush! Any tips on cleaning where something might have dripped to the back where the plug is? followed you from What Goes Wed linky

  6. What a great idea!!! I will have to give this a try. I would love it if you linked this to my Motivate Me Monday linky party on IT’S A ginger SNAP.

  7. I would do similar, but I do think me leaving damp towels on my grill overnight (on accident) contributed to the Teflon on it wearing out. So be careful to come back within an hour :)
    Thanks for sharing.

  8. You must be an angel for sharing this :) I am sure I have the dirtiest electric grill in the world but it isn’t easy cleaning. We cannot wash and use chemicals. I am going to try this method. Hoping for a good result!

  9. Pingback: These 20 Hacks Will Forever Change How Your Clean Your House. They’re Genius

What are your thoughts?