How to Fold a Fitted Sheet {The Easy Way}

folding-sheets

I must admit, it took me a while to learn how to fold a fitted sheet. Fitted sheets in my house were halfheartedly folded in to a tall squarish lump and shoved into the closet you quickly close (because that’s how much junk lives in there) until I finally learned how. That pin with the green sheets makes it much harder than it actually is and a few tries later, I figured out an easier way to fold the sheets. By the way, I am folding king sized sheets in this tutorial. You should be able to fold any sized sheet with this tutorial.

Folded fitted sheets

This is supposed to show the corners sliding nicely up to match the other corners. I usually do this standing up because they match nicer that way.

Step One: Fold the sheet in half and tuck the corners together.

How to Fold Sheets

I lay the sheet on the bed or floor to tug it into a nice squarish shape. It’s okay if it’s not a perfect square/rectangle shape.

Step Two: Fold top third of the sheet down.

Folding Fitted Sheets

I fold where the elastic is and call it good.

Step Three: Fold bottom third of sheet up.

Folded Sheet

I take the bottom part and fold it up so it almost matches the top fold.

Step Four: Take sides and bring to the middle.

How to Fold Fitted Sheets

Leave a space between the ends so the sheet will fold nicely again.

Step Five: Fold fitted sheet in half.

Fold Fitted Sheets

Look it’s not a blob!

Bam, you’re done. You could work at Bed Bath and Beyond now folding fitted sheets. Or, organize the sheet monster living in your closet. Folded sheets play nice in the closet and do not take up more room than needed. I just smile at my folded sheets now. Is it weird that something like this makes me happy?

Happy folding!

Angela

Follow Angela Says on Twitter Like Angela Says on Facebook Subscribe to Angela Says RSS Follow Angela Says on Pintrest

You might also like

52 thoughts on “How to Fold a Fitted Sheet {The Easy Way}

  1. Can I just say, thank you for this! My fitted sheets are not even in squarish bunch. Mine are in a balled mess. Haaha!

    This is excellent! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Thanks so much for sharing this – I get so mad at my sheets, LOL! I’m going to give this method a try – thanks for sharing!

  3. Wow! You make it look so easy. I can never get them all neat like that.. but I’ve never tried your method either.. Going to do it, hopefully I can manage :)

  4. Pingback: 12 Creative Ideas! | Projects, Crafts, Recipes, and More! | Practically Functional

  5. As I was attempting to fold a fitted sheet yesterday, I was thinking that a fitted sheet folding tutorial would make for a great blog post! And then I realized I didn’t know how to do it! So thank you for sharing!

  6. Pingback: The Fun In Functional! {Link Party #55} | Practically Functional

  7. I have folded my sheets like this for years, I only take it one step further….. After folding the fitted sheet, I fold the top sheet, and my pillow cases all but one. Then I take the last pillow case and put the set inside, That way when I change the bed I grab the one set all together and away I go. Keeps you from having to search for the matching top and cases.

  8. Pingback: One Project at a Time: 7/9/13 | A Bowl Full of Lemons

  9. Oh wow, I just struggled with this problem less than a week ago. I prefer fitted sheets, but they’re always such a mess and get all crinkled in the closet … I was wondering if there even WAS a way to fold them properly. SO going to try this out next time, thank you!

  10. Thanks. The lady at the laundromat showed me this once years ago, but i forgot. totally sharing! the world needs to know about this!!!! my linen cabinet is going to look incredible.

  11. I’ve been folding sheets since I’ve able to help my mom. lived on a farm, plenty of laundry to take off the lines. I fold mine over the opposite way, corner to corner,
    plus I can fold them in the air, but I just might try your way and see how I like them.

  12. I learned to fold fitted sheets on my fist. Put one corner of the sheet over the left fist . . . and on and on. I think this came from an Ann Landers column. Too bad it was printed as it also makes a blob. Not even a nice one! Angela you just taught a very old dog a new trick. I’m off to try that new trick! Thanks!

  13. Thank you very much for showing me how to fold a fitted sheet. This is way easier than trying to follow the Martha Stewart video! And to Twila Palmatier, the Martha Stewart video is the same as what you are describing.

What are your thoughts?